I’ve Been Charged With A DWI. What Now?
This guide is meant to give a few ideas for those who are preparing to deal with DUI / DWI charges.
This guide is not legal advice, and cannot substitute for a retained attorney having a thorough review of a person’s situation.
Consult an attorney immediately!
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence (DUI) are serious charges! You should meet with an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible after your arrest or citation. Save all the paperwork the police give you when you are arrested, and bring it to your attorney when you first meet them. Your attorney should move immediately to have all video and audio recordings from your DWI saved so that they can be examined for police procedural mistakes.
You have a short time to act
In Missouri and Kansas, the state gets two tries to suspend your license when you get arrested for DWI/DUI. It’s easy to understand that you’ll have a case in court (the criminal case), and you can lose your license if you are convicted. What is not always known is that the Department of Revenue can suspend your driver’s license within 14 days in Kansas (15 days in Missouri) unless you act to appeal the suspension. Your attorney will be aware of this and will know how to go about appealing this suspension.
Provide good information
Tell your attorney as much about your stop and arrest as possible, including what the cops said to you about why they stopped you, what tests they performed on you, where they took you, and what they say you “blew,” or if you refused.
You should hire an attorney who regularly represents clients facing DWI charges. Experienced DWI attorneys like Cameron stay current on all the changes to the law and the most recent DWI defense theories, and know what they are doing.
If you hire an attorney who only occasionally represents people on DWI, you could be doing yourself a disservice. Examples of mistakes that “dabblers” make:
- Submitting the administrative case for decision without making even the most simple objections, and losing your case, and your license, for you.
- Pleading a DWI client guilty in court when the breath alcohol content (BAC) in the reports was UNDER 0.08% (the Kansas and Missouri legal limit).
- Telling a potential DWI client that they WILL lose their license. Experienced DWI attorneys know that there is always a chance to win.
Getting Your License Back Is A Journey.
Put Cameron’s experience and dedication to work FOR YOU!
Call or email today to get your FREE CASE EVALUATION
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
The choice of a lawyer is an important one and should not be based on advertisements alone. Past results are no guarantee of future results, and every case is individually assessed upon its own merits.